I am definitely in awe of my INF530 colleagues. Today is a catch up day. While I have read posts submitted through the discussion forums, I must admit to being very sporadic following up individual blogs (and I have realised just what I have been missing out on!)

 I have been reading many of their reflective blog posts, either those of their critical scholarly reviews or previous posts. I am enjoying the critical reviews for giving me a glimpse inside these texts – and to see how different concepts and issues are considered. I am also coming across new resources, courtesy of my INF530 colleagues who are pathfinders for me.  The ripple effect. Thank you!

water ripple

Image source: https://www.flickr.com/photos/leafy/385135062/

It is interesting some of the key elements which meander throughout many of our reflections:

  • The role of governments
    • In transformation of educational systems
      • learning based on interest not age-based systems
      • move from standardization and focus on relationships
    • Security and privacy issues
    • Access and equity
  • The role of leaders
    • In transformation of educational systems
    • As agents of change
    • Building relationships
  • The importance for learners to be able to extract, access, use and navigate information – to be critical information users,  able to navigate knowledge
    • Digital literacies & technologies
      • Digital citizenship
    • Innovation – innovative practices
    • The C’s: Context, Creativity, Communication, Collaboration, Construction, Critical thinking, 
    • Learning not failure – Failing forward
    • Student choice –  what is worth learning/knowing?
  • Dependency upon technology
    • What happens when the grid/technology doesn’t work e.g. natural hazards
    • Reliance on technology to drive the economy
    • Time ‘off-grid’ – work/life balance
    • Technology for learning, work and pleasure
  • Connections
    • In learning – students, relationships, participatory
    • Between colleagues – PLN, collaboration
    • Between resources – digital tools
    • Formal and informal learning

 I continue to add more…

Note: Thanks to Katherine Herbert for title  – Half-baked indeed…

