I think what strikes me most from both readings and experiences is that we are at a stage where we need to be constantly re-valuating not only information and media/digital environments, but our own stance and behaviours to it. We are all learners trying to make sense of the ‘complexity and diversity’ of this digital information age as Judy O’Connell notes from the 2011 Digital Universe Study (2011) in her article ‘So you think they can learn?
The article from Beetham and Oliver (chapter 11) in our course readings exemplified (for me) the clearest overview and brought together the most pertinent  issues. I added major concepts from the document to create the Tagul visual below, and yet the key words for me about working effectively is being adaptable and participatory as the world is being ‘rewritten’ as we speak. It is all about context. I think this is what needs to be made explicit to our students. 
 
 
We do need to use a model or framework related to information literacy that will support our students both emotionally and cognitively in making sense of information sources and critically engaging with navigating knowledge in diverse formal and informal learning settings (Beethan and Oliver, p. 160). As Judy noted these ‘transactions that underpin information literacy in a digital era will remain a constant’ (2012, p.10)
 
I have used the inquiry cycle (Kath Murdoch) explicitly with my students, but also tend to dip in and out of other frameworks such as the ISTE NETS for students when planning and programming to meet a particular need.  
 
  • Inquiring – identifying, exploring and organising information and ideas
  • Generating ideas, possibilities and actions
  • Reflecting on thinking and processes
  • Analysing, synthesising and evaluating reasoning and procedures

As for a best example of a critical change I have made has been moving from ‘out’ of the library physical space and taking information literacy sessions into the classrooms. 
I need to polish too many tools and practices 🙂 However, I really want to introduce the concept of curation tools and tagging to my year 5 elementary students with themselves as the curators and creators. I am contemplating tools and practices such as Lino  that will support them – and of course, I will be learning right along next to them!

