Well, I must admit straight off, that my head is not in ‘this space’ to reflect on the course readings. I am totally immersed in my upcoming assignment, the digital essay. I have chosen to focus on digital citizenship for a number of reasons, namely my school context and my own professional interest in this area.  So, my current modules have been left languishing somewhat, though not forgotten.

However, I am going to return to digital citizenship. It has already sent me on a journey as a ‘connected educator’. I have initiated a meeting with the head of my school’s Centre For Innovation In Leadership And Learning  to discuss not only my course task, but how I also want to impact the school community. We talked about the possibility of me sending out a survey to the staff about their comfort levels as far as Digital citizenship was concerned, that I can use within my assignment (hopefully). What is happening in the classrooms across K-12? Is there any way I can draw a picture of the digital ethical environment in the school? Perhaps, it is already happening, or again something that will lead to new directions.  This has sent me on an email journey across to New Zealand, seeking support from NetSafe, which I hope will have a positive outcome as they have developed an excellent survey tool to elicit teacher perceptions.

Connecting with a fellow CSU colleague, Nadine Bailey (@deschatjes) and being fortunate to meet up with each other here in Singapore where we reside; I also found out about an upcoming Citizenship and Resilience In the Digital Age  workshop at Nadine’s international school which I plan to attend (and which I also brought to the attention of my school).

My attention to digital citizenship has connected me to educators around the globe via Twitter, and opened up new avenues of thought, such as with Elijah Meeks (@Elijah_Meeks)  at Stanford University Libraries (see my previous blog commentary).  My research has furthermore connected me to such writings and thoughts from prominent people in the field as Mimi Ito, Henry Jenkins, Stephen Downes, Howard Gardner, Antero Garcia & associates, Doug Belshaw, Nina Paley, Renee Hobbs, Alex Couros, Allen Devine – and the list goes on. Standing on the shoulders of giants indeed.

And then, there is the classroom – my most important work – connecting with my Year 3 – 5 students. Each week, this term, walking in to the classrooms to build relationships and introduce skills and strategies that will help them move forward as digital citizens themselves.

