I have been reading and going back over notes this weekend in anticipation of my next blog post. It is coming together in my mind, but so much reading that keep opening new doors. I gave myself a break from the note taking and text and decided to visit Lara Croft Go! on my ipad. I still cringe whenever Lara meets an untimely death. Now, it is even worse, as I know when I have made the move that will bring it about! I think it usually happens twice before I get the necessary feedback to adjust my strategy to move her forward and beat the beasts! As my readings state:

Games use visual & auditory feedback to let players know if certain actions have succeeded or failed (Turkay et al, 2014, p. 9).

Paul James Gee in Good Video Games and Good Learning (2005) (the article I will be using for my next blog task) talks about good learning principles that good video games incorporate. One of them is RISK TAKING where Failure is seen as a good thing.  Gee states that players can start from the last saved game when they fail. They are encouraged to take risks, explore, and try new things. Initial failures are used as ‘ways to find the pattern, to gain feedback’.

I am starting to now make those connections to my course readings (and others) as I explore this new role of mine as a ‘player’ of ‘digital games’.  However, these are just baby steps! Ingress is waiting. It looks like I will need to download to my mobile phone. I  didn’t realize I need to go out into the world for this one, until I watched: Ingress The Beginner’s Guide and  Playing Ingress. This may have to wait till next weekend!

Reference:

Gee, J.P. (2005). Good video games and good learning.  Phi Kappa Phi Forum. 85 (2), 33-37.

Turkay, S., Hoffman, D., Kinzer, C. K., Chantes, P., & Vicari, C. (2015). Toward understanding the potential of games for learning: Learning theory, game design characteristics, and situating video games in classrooms. Computers in the Schools, 31(1-2), 2–22

