Screenshot 2016-08-30 17.35.21

Digital Scholarship Jo, Chantal, Yvonne Colloquium slides

I am writing this belatedly, as the last couple of weeks have seen me ‘gasping for air’ as I worked on the assessment 2 interpretive essay on digital scholarship. I am not sure how I will go (was due yesterday), it was fascinating, but such a huge area to consider within the word count. However, in the lead up, I collaborated with two other colleagues, Jo and Chantal, to lead the first student led peer colloquium 17 August 2016. It was my first experience with online collaboration to develop a group product/presentation, albeit an informal one. The topic was digital scholarship, and we chose to look through the lens of scholar, scholarship and institution. In hindsight, it influenced my interpretive essay more than I realized. The lead up to the online discussion with the rest of our cohort was busy, with constant communication either through messenger phone chats, messages and google drive. This period of working together meant many conversations about the topic, resources, ideas and reflections.  It also proved to follow a similar process as blogging does (see Veletsianos & Kimmons, 2012, p. 771) where the three of us ‘expressed opinions, sought feedback, involved ‘think by writing’ and enabled the release of emotional tension. And that was only the beginning! The colloquium was nerve wracking, having to then share our thoughts and ideas with the rest of the cohort (I still have not been ‘game enough’ to go back and listen to my recorded speaking session).  The event also gave me a greater appreciation for our guest colloquium speakers and our coordinator who are able to talk and track our cohorts written conversations simultaneously. It was a huge learning curve, and one that I am glad to have experienced. Need I say, I cannot thank Jo and Chantal enough!

Reference: 

Veletsianos, G. & Kimmons, R. (2012). Networked participatory scholarship: emergent techno-cultural pressures toward open and digital scholarship in online networks. Computers & Education, 58(2), 766-774.

